Hall of Fame

In recognition of the University of Limericks unique contribution to sport regionally, nationally and internationally and to round off an excellent year of events celebrating UL40, the University of Limerick Sports Hall of Fame was unveiled on in 2014.

These individuals will forever be remembered for their achievements, their commitment to excellence and the inspiration they provide to our next generations of athletes. They have reached the pinnacle of their sporting careers and have earned our highest esteem and gratitude for their contribution to UL Sport.

On Saturday 28th September, 2014 sixteen athletes have been chosen from the four decades of sporting excellence to be the inaugural inductees in our Hall of Fame.  Dr Sarahjane Belton – Rugby, Mr Brian Mullins – Gaelic Football, Ms Eimear Cregan – Hockey, Mr Séan O Grady – Paralympic Athletics, Mr Jimmy Deenihan – Gaelic Football, Mr Eddie O Sullivan – Rugby, Mr Gerard Hartmann – Triathlon, Ms Ciara Peelo – Sailing, Dr Liam Hennessy – Athletics, Mr Ray Silke – Gaelic Football, Dr Eddie Keher – Hurling, Mr Pat Spillane – Gaelic Football, Mr Séan McMahon – Hurling, Ms Carmel Vekins – Kayak & Canoe Polo, Ms Sinéad Millea – Camogie, Mr Tony Ward – Rugby.

On Saturday August 22nd 2015 , a further seven outstanding sportspeople were inducted into the UL Sports Hall of Fame. The individuals honoured this year include: Ms Ruth Algar (Athletics), Ms Fiona Coughlan (Rugby), Mr Brian Lohan (Hurling), Mr Sean McGrath (Paralympian), Mr Liam O’Brien (Athletics), Ms Fiona O’Driscoll (Camogie/Gaelic Football), & Mr Keith Wood (Rugby).

On Saturday September 22nd 2018, The next eight outstanding Sportspeople were inducted into the UL Sport Hall of Fame. The individuals honoured this year include: Mr Martin Comerford (Hurling), Mr Tom Comyns (Athletics), Ms Rosie Foley (Rugby), Ms Anna Geary (Camogie), Ms Valerie Mulcahy (Gaelic Football), Mr Paul O Connell (Rugby), Mr Gary Ryan (Athletics), Ms Rosemary Ryan (Athletics).

Video Gallery

Mr Martin Comerford

Mr Tom Comyns